
HEAT: PEDAL TO THE METAL Unofficial Fan-Made FAQ v0.2 (December 29, 2022)
Please add a comment to the file page or send a GM to claudio212 with edits/corrections/suggestions. Thank you!
Sections have been reordered to reflect the order of the steps better - and to separate things that are largely basic rules
from advanced rules.Thanks to everyone who provided their feedback!

Easily missed rules:

1. When you resolve a ‘+’, you keep drawing cards until you get one with a speedometer icon (i.e. a Speed card). All
others go to the discard pile immediately.

2. Draw a Road Condition token for each corner only. Not for the sectors between corners. When you turn over the
tiles, you’ll discover if they modify the corner or the next track sector. If they modify the corner, leave them where
they are. If they have the arrows, move them to the tent on the next sector (i.e. the sector between the corner that
drew the token and the next corner).

3. The ‘+’ symbol is used for a lot of things that are different - boosts, upgrades, and stress. In every instance it
indicates that you will draw cards until you flip a Speed card (i.e. speedometer icon) which will then count for your
total speed for the turn - both for movement and checking corners. The 0 and 5 basic upgrades don’t count!

4. Don’t add slipstream to speed in corners. DO add the Adrenaline bonus, if used.
5. You don’t actually perform the Adrenaline bonuses in Step 4 (Adrenaline). You just confirm you received the

bonuses for having moved last (or second to last in higher player count games). You then perform the actions on
those symbols - and any others - in Step 5 (React) in any order. This gives you MUCH more flexibility.

6. Legends work totally differently than players. They don’t spin out, slipstream, heat up, or cool down. They just
move as far as they move based on their being in one of three states - before the legend line and able to move at
their top speed (i.e. number in the helmet) without crossing the corner line, before the legend line and unable to
move the full number before crossing the corner line, and past the Legend Line. There is only one exception…

7. Legends can’t cross two corners in one move.
8. While slipstreaming doesn’t add to your total speed, if it carries you across a corner line, you still compare your

total speed to the corner speed limit. So, while the slipstream itself didn’t increase your speed, you may have
triggered Step 7 (Check Corner).

9. Determine slipstreaming after the React step when you use all your icons. It is SO easy to get excited about
slipstreaming when you are done with the first part of your move.

10. You do not need to pay heat to use stress cards. This is a common misunderstanding based on the wording of the
boost rules.

11. ‘Speed cards’ and ‘total speed’ are different. Speed cards are cards with a speedometer icon and are numbered
1-4. Total speed is the movement values of all of your played cards including speed cards, upgrade cards,
sponsorship cards, and any icons used in Step 5 (React) (including the Adrenaline bonus).

12. Ignore corners past the finish - both for legend movement and for player movement.
13. The event card which offers the sponsorship cards at the end of the first lap is granted immediately! That is, not at

the end of the turn, so someone who goes first and crosses but is passed by a player moving later will still get the
card!

The ‘+’ Icon
There is a lot of confusion around the ‘+’ icon. Most of the confusion around boost/stress/+ would be eliminated if they
properly named the icon and treated it in the rules as just another icon that meant ‘flip cards from your draw deck until you
draw a Speed card (i.e. speedometer icon); discard all other cards immediately’. If you just treat it as a simple Boost icon
- an icon like any other - with this definition everything becomes much simpler:

● When you play a Stress card, you must activate the Boost icon because it is in place of the movement value on the
card.

● In every gear, you have access to one Boost icon in the React step (but you must pay one heat to use it, as noted
by the heat icon).

● Some upgrades have the boost icons in place of movement numbers.
● When you play an Accelerate card you count all the Boost icons that were used to flip Speed cards.

GENERAL
Are you allowed to shift gears on the first round?
Yes. You may shift to second or - with the expenditure of a heat - third.

Can I look through my own discard pile?



No.

MOVEMENT

Do upgrade cards count as played cards in the Reveal and Move step (i.e. Step 3)?
Yes. The player board seems to indicate only Speed cards (i.e. cards with speedometer icon) count. This is not the case.

What is the order of Adrenaline, Boost, and Slipstream when blocked?
1) Move your regular movement first (Step 3); if you are blocked, go back to the first available space. 2) Then, determine
that you have Adrenaline (Step 4) - i.e. you were the last (or second to last if playing with 5 or more cars) to move. 3) Then,
in the React Step, use symbols in whatever order, including a boost or the increased speed you received in the Adrenaline
step, making sure to resolve the effects of each symbol before moving on to the next one. 4) Then determine if you
slipstream.

If I get Adrenaline in Step 4, do I need to use it right then, before Step 5?
No, you may not. The step determines who receives the icons allowing increased speed and cooldown icons. You use them
in the React Step.

Can I combine a Boost with Adrenaline to move past blocked spaces?
No. Boost is an action performed in step 5, React. You must complete it before or after you use your increased speed (or
any other symbols) as a separate action in the react step. While all symbols used in the React step can be used in any
order, their effects must be fully executed before moving on to the next symbol.

Do the basic upgrades (0 or 5) count as Speed cards when using a Stress card or Boost?
No. They do not have a spedometer and are thus discarded like all other cards that are not 1, 2,3, or 4.

Can I choose the value of a variable value card after I’ve resolved all my ‘+’ icons?
Some yes, some no. You can choose the variable speed after you have resolved the Speed cards associated with any cards
played in step 2. This includes Stress and Upgrade cards that have a ‘+’. After you have decided the value of the variable
one, though, you cannot change it at step 5 React, when you do a Boost or Direct Play upgrades.

Can you use one part of the Adrenaline bonus without using the other? For example, the extra speed without using the
cooldown?
Yes. The two icons that are granted during Step 4 (Adrenaline) may be used in Step 5 (React) like any other icons. That is:
They can be played in any order and, if they don’t have the mandatory symbol (i.e. ‘!’), they are optional.

Do you have to Boost if you want to use your Adrenaline speed bonus?
No. The rules make it sound like it. But they are really just highlighting the fact that the Adrenaline bonus give you two extra
icons to use during the React step - a speed bonus icon and a cooldown icon. And they can be used in whatever order
during the React step - including before or after a Boost action if you do it.

When do you resolve ‘+’s on upgrade cards?
When they are played. Most will be played in step 2 and resolved in step three. Resolve them like stress. That is, flip until
you get a Speed card (i.e. speedometer icon). Some can be Direct Play, however. They are resolved during the React step -
Step 5.

HEAT
Can I ever discard heat from my hand directly to my discard pile
There is only one instance where this is possible - in fact, necessary: When you are unable to play enough cards given your
current gear. In that case, you have to make up the difference with heat cards.

Why are there heat ‘upgrades’?
The heat upgrades allow you to get more heat into your engine to pay for going through turns faster, boosting more, and
paying for other upgrades that require them. When paired with cooling upgrades, they can be very effective.

Do heat upgrades start in your deck or in your engine?
In your deck.



Do I need to play Heat cards from my engine to my discard pile to play Stress cards?
No. It is confusing that the same ‘+’ icon is used for both Stress, Boost, and flipping cards in upgrades.

For cards that require heat to play (e.g. Cooling system), can I play them even if I don’t have heat in my engine if I have
cooling icons that I’ll play in the React step?
Yes. All icons are addressed during Step 5 (React) and can be played in any order. So, if you have heat in your hand and
cooling icons on played cards, you can cool your engine first, then pay heat for cards played. The icons can even be on the
same card!

After shifting down, I have no heat in my engine and I don’t have enough cards in my hand to meet the requirements in Step
2 (Play Cards) unless I use a card for which I will not be able to pay the heat cost in Step 5 (React). Can I play it anyway and
use the rule regarding ‘accidentally’ playing such a card (see Note on the Mandatory Symbols section on page 12 of the
Advanced rules) to treat it as a Stress card?
Yes. The designer has confirmed this even though the play was not ‘accidental’. See here.

Is the number of heat cards in each player’s engine public?
Yes. According to the publisher, you may ask to know how much another player has in their engine.

BOOST ICONS
Can I Boost in any gear?
Yes. There is a Boost icon in the upper left of every gear. This is often missed. So no matter what gear you are in, you may
pay a heat to get a boost. And it’s a free (i.e. no heat) boost if you are in a sector marked by a Heat Control token.

What is the heat icon on the gears?
It is a reminder that one must pay a heat for using the boost icon.

SLIPSTREAMING
Can I choose to move only one extra space while slipstreaming?
No. When you choose to slipstream, you must move two spaces if you can. If you choose to slipstream, but are blocked in
the second space, you will only go one space.

Can I use a slipstream boost icon instead of slipstream?
No. You can only use a slipstream boost icon from upgrades, weather effects, and road conditions to add to the base
slipstream bonus.

Can you slipstream if it carries you over the finish line?
No. You cannot slipstream if you are over the line or if it carries you over the line.

Can you chain slipstreams (i.e. slipstream once, then again if you arrive behind or next to another car, etc.)?
No. You can only slipstream once in your turn.

Can I slipstream if both spots in the space in front of me are occupied?
Yes, as long as there is a spot available on the next space. The same rules apply for blocked spaces as in the Reveal &
Move step.

Can a car still slipstream after it was blocked during its regular movement, thus taking the first free spot behind the blocking
space?
Yes, as long as there is a spot available in the space two spaces ahead.

Can I slipstream even if I am not directly behind another car?
You can slipstream if you are in the space behind another car, regardless of whether there is a car in the spot in front of you.
It is important to remember the difference - a space is made up of two spots that cars can be in.

Do I get to slipstream if a car ends next to me later in the turn if I didn’t slipstream on my move?
No. Slipstreaming is only ever possible during the slipstream step of your own turn and is based on the conditions at that
moment.

https://boardgamegeek.com/thread/2994969/playing-heat-cost-card-not-accident


CORNERS
Does Adrenaline add to my Speed when checking the corner in step 7?
Yes.

If you spinout and move to first gear, do you have to do your next turn in first gear?
No. You may shift up to second gear. Of course, since you’ve paid all your heat, you cannot shift up to third gear by paying a
heat.

Can I pass two Corner Lines in one turn?
Yes. Only Legends are restricted to one corner per turn.

If I go through two corners in one turn, do the Adjust Speed Limit symbols apply to both?
Adjust Speed Limit symbols (both ‘+’ and ‘-’) from cards played apply to both. Adjust Speed LImit symbols from Road
Condition tokens only apply to the corner on which they are placed.

What does it mean to ‘pay for each corner separately’ if you go through several in one turn?
Your total speed counts for both. Compare that speed to each corner (including Adjust Speed Limit symbols from cards
played and Road Condition tokens). Pay heat for each corner where your speed exceeded the speed limit, starting with the
first corner moved through.

Can I use a boost after passing the corner?
This question only makes sense if you ignore the steps. Check Corner is the 7th step after all icons are resolved in the React
step (and you’ve decided whether or not to slipstream in step 6). So, yes, you can boost in step 5, but the value of the
Speed card drawn will increase your cornering speed, potentially putting you over the speed limit when you check in step 7.

LEGENDS
Do Legends obey corner restrictions at the end of the race?
No. If they have not passed the Legend Line, they go their full amount, regardless of corners.

When do you turn over the Legends Card?
When it is the turn of the first Legend in turn order (i.e. going front to back).

Do weather or road effects have impact on Legends?
Generally, no since they do not slipstream, take heat, cool down, or boost. But the speed limit adjustments (+1/-1) in corners
change their behavior.

Do Legends spin out in the same way players do?
No. Legends operate very differently from players. They move based on one of three cases: 1) Past the Legend line (i.e.
Entering a Corner) and go the Speed Limit plus their diamond number, 2) Before the Legend line and able to go the full
distance on the helmet without going over the corner line and go that distance, or 3) Before the Legend line and not able to
go the full distance of their helmet number before crossing the corner line; in this case they go to the space equal to their
diamond number.

UPGRADE CARD CLARIFICATIONS

Do you start the first race of a Championship series with four upgrades (i.e. three per Garage module plus one for the Build
Car phase) or just one from the Build Car phase?
Just one for Build Car.

How does Accelerate work?
The wording is imprecise. Better wording would be:
Accelerate: If you use this icon, you must increase your Speed by 1 for every card that is played as the result of a
'+' icon (i.e. Upgrades, Stress, and Boost).

If I use Accelerate on a 4-Wheel Drive (card 2), does that give +3 speed for the ‘+++’ on that card?
Yes.



When using Accelerate, do I count all the cards flipped, even if discarded?
No, only cards played as a result of a ‘+’ symbol count toward the bonus.

What is special about Direct Play? Aren’t all cards played from your hand?
The wording is imprecise. Better wording would be:
You may play this card from your hand during the React step.
This allows you to play it as an extra card if you use the Direct Play ability; if you use it as a card played in Step 2 (Play
Cards), then it counts toward your gear

Can I play cards with the Direct Play symbol during Step 2 ( Play Cards)  as ‘regular’ cards?
Yes.

Are Direct Play cards part of the number of cards determined by the gear?
If they are played in step 2, yes. If they are played directly as part of the React step, no, they do not count against your gear.

Do cards with the Refresh icon count toward total speed?
Yes. They are put back on the draw pile at the end of the React step, so they have been counted for total speed by then.

SPONSORSHIPS
Do you get the Sponsorship if you slipstream at any point in your move through the turn? Or is it specifically for slipstreaming
over the line?
You get the sponsorship if you cross the line during Step 6 (Slipstream)

Can I voluntarily discard Sponsorships?
Yes. They go to your discard and can be drawn again later. If not used throughout the game, they can be held over to the
next race.

Do speed limit modifiers change the conditions for Sponsorships?
Yes and no. Individual modifiers from upgrade cards do not affect the conditions for sponsorships. But general modifiers
from road condition tokens do affect the conditions of sponsorships. For example, if you go through a 2 corner with an
upgrade that has a (mandatory) +1 modifier for the speed limit, you can take the corner at speed 4, get the sponsorship and
only pay 1 heat. But if it were a road condition token that modified the corner by +1, you would need to take the corner at
speed 5 or more to get the sponsorship card.


